The 14 Worst Kinds of Late People

Considering I’m sorta a mix between 2, 13, and 14, I feel there is something I need to do to work on this chronic problem in my life.. because I care, but yet I’m still late to places. So, do I really care? I need a cattle prod, I guess, to get me moving in the morning. I mean, sometimes I will wake up less than an hour and half before I have to be somewhere, and I’ll be about 5-10 minutes late. Other times, I will wake up more than two hours I need to be at work and will still manage to be 10 minutes late. What gives? Why can’t I get this down?

In college, I managed to arrange it that for my 9 o’clock a.m. Monday/Wednesday/Friday class, I barely skipped any so I would have more “lates” to use, meaning I knew that I’d be more likely to be late to class than skip the class itself. My freshman year I was only on time to class because my roommates forced me to get up, get around, and go to breakfast and then class with one of them. I guess social pressure helps some to encourage you to do the normal, adult thing and be on time places. But, at the same time, clearly I didn’t learn to take these characteristics to heart and make them a part of my schedule. Again, I guess I don’t care enough about others’ time. And, that’s a problem. I’m not sure what the solution is to this much-more-common-than-some-would-have-you-believe problem, though..

TIME

“What late people don’t understand about on-time people,” comedian Mike Birbiglia says in a stand-up routine, “is that we hate them.” He goes on to make a clear distinction between two types of people: earlies and laties. And getting a reputation as a latie, he says, is not a good thing.

Was it cool when New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio recently arrived 80 minutes late at the Vatican — the Vatican! — to deliver a speech about climate change? (Or all the other times he was seriously behind schedule?) Was it all fine and good that time Nicki Minaj crept in late to a live broadcast of American Idol? How about when your friend Scott (ugh, Scott) showed up a half hour late to your coffee date for the fifth time?

The answer, of course, is no. No, lateness is not cool. Sure, it happens to…

View original post 829 more words

Leave a Reply

